Brindise says no to East Carolina

Published: Thursday, January 16, 2003 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, January 15, 2003 at 10:35 p.m.
GREENVILLE, N.C. - Washington Redskins quarterback coach Noah Brindise got a better deal Wednesday and said he will stay with the NFL team despite accepting East Carolina's offer a day earlier to be its offensive coordinator.
"It is truly a wonderful opportunity at a very special place," Brindise said in a release after the Redskins made him a counter-offer on Wednesday.
A former quarterback and graduate assistant at Florida before following coach Steve Spurrier to the Redskins, Brindise said Tuesday he'd run the offense for new Pirates coach John Thompson. Brindise changed his mind Wednesday.
"When you are going after good people, this is the kind of situation that happens sometimes in this business," Thompson said. "Noah has a bright future ahead of him and he was presented with an offer that was in his best interest to accept. We will keep on rolling and will go with another plan to fill our offensive coordinator position."
  • NFL DRAFT: Tight end Dallas Clark became the fourth All-American to leave school early for the NFL Draft when he decided Wednesday that he would skip his senior season at Iowa.
    Clark announced his decision on the final day for college underclassmen to declare for the draft.
    In all, 29 players have announced their intentions to enter the NFL Draft. Additional players could leave school early as long as their letters to the NFL were postmarked by Wednesday.
    The other players who announced they are turning pro early are: quarterback Rex Grossman (Florida); running backs Chris Brown (Colorado), Onterrio Smith (Oregon) and Derek Watson (South Carolina); receivers Anquan Boldin (Florida State), Andre Johnson (Miami), Shaun McDonald (Arizona State) and Kelley Washington (Tennessee); offensive lineman Kwame Harris (Stanford); tight ends Robert Johnson (Auburn), Jason Witten (Tennessee) and George Wrighster (Oregon); defensive linemen Clint Mitchell (Florida), Ian Scott (Florida), Dewayne White (Louisville) and Jimmy Wilkerson (Oklahoma); linebackers LaMarcus McDonald (TCU) and Terry Pierce (Kansas State); defensive backs Lynaris Elpheage (Tulane) and Ken Hamlin (Arkansas); and kicker Peter Christofilakos (Illinois).
  • Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

    ▲ Return to Top