49ERS VS. GIANTS
Officials blew call, NFL says
Published: Tuesday, January 7, 2003 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Monday, January 6, 2003 at 11:57 p.m.
NEW YORK - The San Francisco 49ers' 24-point comeback victory over the New York Giants ended with an officiating error.
The NFL said Monday that pass interference should have been called against the 49ers on the final play of the 39-38 thriller.
A botched field-goal attempt by the Giants ended Sunday's game, when New York was called for having an ineligible receiver downfield while holder Matt Allen attempted a pass. However, the league said that the pass interference that was ignored would have resulted in a replay of the down.
``How they missed that, I don't know why,'' Giants coach Jim Fassel said.
After a videotape review of the 41-yard attempt with six seconds left, NFL Director of Officiating Mike Pereira determined:
``If defensive pass interference had been called,'' an NFL statement explained, ``there would have been offsetting penalties (ineligible receiver against the Giants and pass interference against the 49ers), with the down replayed at the original line of scrimmage, the San Francisco 23-yard line. Although time had expired, a game cannot end with offsetting penalties. Thus, the game would have been extended by one untimed down.''
It was a cluttered ending to an exhausting game, but the 49ers didn't apologize Monday for their victory. After all, they're still convinced that Ahmed Plummer intercepted a pass by Kerry Collins two plays before the botched field goal.
When Pereira called 49ers coach Steve Mariucci to explain the league's statement, Mariucci's response was sarcastic: ``Bummer.''
Actually, Mariucci thought Okeafor would be called for pass interference in the moments after the play occurred - but when no penalty was called, he joined his team in the celebration.
``That's the way it goes,'' Mariucci said. ``What do you want me to say? Just like coaching and playing, in officiating, there's never going to be a perfect game.''
Allen could not have spiked the botched snap, because it was a long snap. Pereira said the only time a player can spike the ball is when he takes the ball directly from the center.
Matt Bryant lined up to try the potential game-winning field goal, and the snap from newly signed Trey Junkin was in the dirt. Allen fumbled the ball, then made the desperation pass downfield to Seubert.
Pereira said the only other option would have been to throw to an eligible receiver.
The 49ers also couldn't understand why Plummer wasn't awarded an interception at the San Francisco 28 with 15 seconds left, though the league's explanation was more clear-cut on the play.
Plummer and Amani Toomer went down in a pile after Collins' pass, and Plummer appeared to have possession of the ball - to everybody but the officials in the replay booth, that is. Even the side judge threw his yardage-marking beanie, which typically signals a change of possession, but the pass was ruled incomplete.
Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.
Comments are currently unavailable on this article